Owlet Smart Sock 2 vs 3 Compared, Plus the Dream Sock That Replaced Them
You’ve found a used Owlet for sale, or a friend has offered you theirs, and the listing just says “Smart Sock.” Is it the 2 or the 3, and does the difference even matter now? In 2026 it matters more than ever. When you compare the Owlet Smart Sock 2 vs 3, the biggest gap isn’t battery life or fit, it’s that the Smart Sock 2 stopped connecting to the internet on April 8, 2025, so it no longer works the way it was designed to. The Smart Sock 3 has been replaced in the US by the FDA-cleared Dream Sock. Below you’ll see exactly how the three compare, what still works, how accurate the sock really is, and what to check before you buy one second-hand.
Talk to your pediatrician before relying on any home monitor, especially if your baby was born early, has a heart or breathing condition, or has been unwell. No sock replaces safe sleep or medical care. If your baby looks unwell, is breathing differently or is hard to wake, call your doctor or emergency services straight away, whatever the monitor says.

Owlet Smart Sock 2 vs 3 at a Glance
| Feature | Smart Sock 2 | Smart Sock 3 | Smart Sock Plus | Dream Sock |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Status in the US | Off the market since 2021; no internet connection since April 8, 2025 | Replaced by Dream Sock in 2022; can be converted to Dream Sock | Smart Sock 3 with extra sock sizes | Current model, FDA-cleared |
| Age and weight | 0 to 18 months | 0 to 18 months, 5 to 30 lb | Up to 5 years or 55 lb | 1 to 18 months, 6 to 30 lb for Health Notifications |
| Fabric socks | Fixed-size sock, per Owlet’s comparison table | 2 sizes, left and right | 3 sizes | 4 socks in 2 sizes |
| Charging | USB cable to the sensor | Wireless charging base | Wireless charging base | Wireless, fast charging |
| Bluetooth range | About 10 feet | About 100 feet | About 100 feet | Up to 30 feet |
| Battery | Not stated in current Owlet pages | Up to 16 hours; 8 hours from a 20-minute charge | Same as Smart Sock 3 | Up to 16 hours; 8 hours from a 20-minute charge |
| Washable sensor | No | Yes | Yes | Not stated; follow the manual |
| App | Legacy Owlet app | Owlet Care app (no longer offered to new Apple users) | Owlet Care app | Owlet Dream App |
Owlet Smart Sock 2 vs 3 vs Dream Sock, from Owlet’s help center, comparison table and product pages, checked November 2026.
In the Owlet Smart Sock 2 vs 3 comparison, the Smart Sock 3 fixed most of the Smart Sock 2’s everyday annoyances, and the Dream Sock then replaced both. If you’re buying today in the US, the Dream Sock is the only one Owlet sells and supports fully.
What’s the Difference Between the Owlet 2 and 3?
Side by side, the Owlet Smart Sock 2 vs 3 work the same basic way. Both socks use pulse oximetry, the same kind of light sensor a hospital clips onto a finger, to read your baby’s pulse rate and oxygen level from the foot. The base station glows green when readings are in range and sounds an alarm when they aren’t. The differences are mostly about comfort, charging and connection.
Owlet Smart Sock 2 vs 3 Battery and Charging
The Smart Sock 2 sensor charged through a USB cable plugged into the base station. The Smart Sock 3 sensor sits on a wireless charging base instead. Owlet says the Smart Sock 3 lasts up to 16 hours on a charge, gives about 8 hours from a 20-minute top-up, and fully charges in about 90 minutes.
Fit, Washing and Range
Owlet describes the Smart Sock 3 as having a more flexible, better fit than the Smart Sock 2, and it comes with two fabric sock sizes for left and right feet. The Smart Sock 3 sensor is washable, while the Smart Sock 2 sensor is not, though its fabric socks are. The Smart Sock 3 also has a much longer Bluetooth range between sock and base, about 100 feet compared with about 10 feet, according to Owlet’s comparison table.
Is the Owlet Smart Sock 2 Discontinued?
Yes. Owlet stopped selling the Smart Sock in the US and Canada in 2021, after the FDA said its pulse rate and oxygen notifications made it a medical device that needed FDA authorization. Then, in its official Smart Sock 2 support notice, Owlet said that as of April 8, 2025, the Smart Sock 2 “will no longer be able to connect to the internet,” and recommended removing it from the Owlet Care app. Owlet said the change was to move customers onto its latest FDA-cleared technology.
Will the Owlet Smart Sock 2 Still Work?
Not as designed. Since April 8, 2025, the Smart Sock 2 can’t connect to the internet, so you lose live readings in the app, and Owlet no longer supports it. Owlet’s FAQs describe the base station, not the phone, as the main alarm, but Owlet now recommends removing the device rather than using it. A Smart Sock 2 for sale today is best treated as unsupported.
Does the Owlet Smart Sock 3 Still Work?

It depends on where you live and how you use it. Owlet’s help center says that in early 2022 the Dream Sock replaced the Smart Sock 3 in the US and Canada. In late 2021 the FDA said the Smart Sock 3 should also be classed as a medical device because of its live readings and notifications, and Apple then stopped offering the Owlet Care app to new users in the App Store.
In the US and Canada, Owlet says Smart Sock 3 owners can convert their device to Dream Sock, and encourages them to do so. Outside North America, the Smart Sock 3 was sold for longer in some countries, so check your local Owlet support site for your model.
Smart Sock 3 vs Dream Sock
The Dream Sock looks similar, but it’s a different product legally and in the app. On November 8, 2023, the FDA granted the Dream Sock with Health Notifications a De Novo clearance as the first over-the-counter smart baby monitor medical device. In the Owlet Dream App it shows live pulse rate and oxygen level, sends a notification if readings move outside preset zones, and adds sleep tracking.
- Age and weight. The FDA-cleared Health Notifications are for healthy babies 1 to 18 months old who weigh 6 to 30 pounds.
- Socks. It comes with four fabric socks in two sizes.
- Range. Owlet lists a Bluetooth range of up to 30 feet, shorter than the Smart Sock 3’s 100 feet, so the base station needs to be closer.
- Price. Owlet listed the Dream Sock at $299.99 when we checked. Prices change often, so compare before you buy.
Owlet also sells BabySat, an FDA-cleared version available only with a prescription, for babies whose doctor wants them monitored at home.
Smart Sock Plus, Dream Sock Plus and Dream Duo
The Smart Sock Plus was a Smart Sock 3 with a third, larger sock size, letting it be used up to age 5 or 55 pounds. Owlet later launched a Dream Sock Plus in 2022 for children up to 5 years or 55 pounds, but the FDA-cleared Health Notifications only cover babies 1 to 18 months and 6 to 30 pounds.
Dream Duo bundles the Dream Sock with a camera. The newest Dream Duo (Gen 3) pairs it with the Dream Sight camera, which streams 2K video, while the earlier Dream Duo used the 1080p Owlet Cam 2. Owlet listed Dream Duo Gen 3 at $379.99 when we checked.
How Accurate Is the Owlet Sock?
This is where the marketing and the independent research differ, so it helps to look at both
The independent study on the Smart Sock 2. In 2018, researchers at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia tested the Smart Sock 2 on 30 hospitalized babies aged 6 months and younger, against an FDA-cleared hospital monitor. Their JAMA study found the Owlet picked up low oxygen in all 12 babies who had it at least once, with an overall sensitivity of 88.8%. However, at least once during low oxygen, it showed normal readings for 5 of those 12 babies. A later review of the study reported that the Owlet didn’t flag the slow heart rate episodes in that group.
Owlet’s own data on the Dream Sock. Owlet says the Dream Sock was clinically evaluated across all skin tones, with and without movement, and was accurate to within plus or minus 3% of gold-standard arterial blood gas measurements. That testing was part of its FDA clearance.
The Smart Sock 3. We couldn’t find a published independent accuracy study of the Smart Sock 3 itself, so any accuracy figure you see for it should be treated with care.
Can an Owlet Sock Give a False Reading?
Yes. A sock that slips, sits too loosely or is pulled too tight can lose the signal, and a wriggling baby can cause readings to drop briefly. Owlet’s app shows a yellow notification when the sock needs repositioning. If you get a red alarm, check your baby first: look at their colour, breathing and how they respond. If anything seems wrong, call your doctor or emergency services rather than waiting for the reading to settle.
Do Doctors Recommend Owlet Socks?
Not as a way to prevent SIDS. The American Academy of Pediatrics’ 2022 safe sleep policy advises against using home heart and breathing monitors as a strategy to reduce the risk of SIDS, and warns against relying on commercial products marketed to lower that risk. The CHOP researchers behind the 2018 study also said there’s no medical reason to electronically monitor vital signs in healthy babies at home.
Some parents still find a sock helps their peace of mind, and that’s a personal choice. Whatever you decide, the things that lower SIDS risk stay the same. Place your baby on their back, on a firm flat surface with nothing soft around them, in your room but not in your bed. A crib or a bedside bassinet close to you makes that easier.
Buying a Used Owlet? Check These First
- Which model is it? A Smart Sock 2 hasn’t been able to connect to the internet since April 8, 2025. Skip it.
- Will the app work? For a Smart Sock 3, check whether you can set it up or convert it to Dream Sock in your country before you pay.
- Is the sensor in good shape? Look for cracks, a loose casing or a charging base that doesn’t light up.
- Are the fabric socks included? Make sure the sizes fit your baby now.
- Warranty. Owlet’s warranty starts from the original setup date, so a used sock is often out of warranty.
When to Switch to the Size 2 Owlet Sock
Owlet says that if the ankle strap no longer fits all the way onto the pad, it’s time to move up to size 2. To prevent red marks, Owlet suggests swapping the sock between the left and right foot at least every 8 hours, and checking your baby’s skin every 4 hours during the first week, or when you switch sizes.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Bottom Line
The Smart Sock 3 was a real upgrade on the Smart Sock 2, with wireless charging, a washable sensor and a better fit. In 2026, though, the comparison mostly tells you what to avoid. For the Owlet Smart Sock 2 vs 3 question, the honest answer is that the 2 no longer works as designed, and the 3 has been replaced by the Dream Sock in the US. Whichever monitor you choose, treat it as extra reassurance, not a safety device, and keep following safe sleep basics.
This article is for general information only. It isn’t medical advice and doesn’t replace Owlet’s instructions or a conversation with your pediatrician. If you’re worried about your baby, contact your doctor or emergency services.
Newsletter Signup
Subscribe to our weekly newsletter below and never miss the latest product or an exclusive offer.

